Discussions

SheReaders Calendar

2024

1/25/2024
Book Discussion

Hello Beautiful

Ann Napolitano’s latest novel Hello Beautiful is a poignant and emotionally complex family drama that explores…

2/15/2024
Book Discussion

Yellow Wife

In the tradition of Wench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced…

3/21/2024
Book Discussion

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city…

4/18/2024
Book Discussion

Peach Blossom Spring

It is 1938 in China and, as a young wife, Meilin’s future is bright. But with the Japanese army approaching…

5/16/2024

A discarded painting in a junk pile, a skeleton in an attic, and the greatest racehorse in American history…

6/20/2024

Indian American journalist Smita has returned to India to cover a story, but reluctantly…

7/18/2024
Book Discussion

Lady Tan’s Circle of Women

 

According to Confucius, “an educated woman is a worthless woman,” but Tan Yunxian—born into an elite family…

8/15/2024
Book Discussion

West with Giraffes 

 

It’s 1938. The Great Depression lingers. Hitler is threatening Europe, and world-weary Americans long for wonder…

9/19/2024
Book Discussion

Take My Hand

 

Montgomery, Alabama 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference…

10/17/2024
Book Discussion

Nettle & Bone 

 

After years of seeing her sisters suffer at the hands of an abusive prince, Marra—the shy, convent-raised…

11/21/2024
Book Discussion

Crow Mary

 

In 1872, sixteen-year-old Goes First, a Crow Native woman, marries Abe Farwell, a white fur trader…

12/19/2024

Summer 1995: Ten-year-old Joan, her mother, and her younger sister flee her father’s explosive temper…

Books

Meet Our Authors

Ann Napolitano
Ann Napolitano

Hello Beautiful

Sadeqa Johnson
Sadeqa Johnson

Yellow Wife

Christy Lefteri
Christy Lefteri

The Beekeeper of Aleppo

Melissa Fu
Melissa Fu

Peach Blossom Spring

Geraldine Brooks
Geraldine Brooks

Horse

Thrity Umrigar
Thrity Umrigar

Honor

Lisa See
Lisa See

Lady Tan’s Circle of Women

Lynda Rutledge
Lynda Rutledge

West with Giraffes

Want to Speak at this Meetup or at a Future Meetup?
Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Take My Hand

T. Kingfisher
T. Kingfisher

Nettle & Bone

Kathleen Grissom
Kathleen Grissom

Crow Mary

Tara M. Stringfellow
Tara M. Stringfellow

Memphis

Donate to SheReaders

Our next book discussion

Hello Beautiful

Ann Napolitano

Vibrating with tenderness, Hello Beautiful is a gorgeous, profoundly moving portrait of what’s possible when we choose to love someone not in spite of who they are, but because of it.

hello beautiful

Join our community of SheReaders! Among us you’ll find women from all over the globe who enjoy reading and discussing great books written by women authors. Many of us have been part of the group for years but we are friendly and always open to welcoming new members.

Five Star Rating

Based on over 300 reviews

Welcoming
(25)

Engading
(25)

Safe
(11)

Punctual
(11)

R

As Described
(15)

Inclusive
(17)

An amazing group with a fantastic host who keeps meetings upbeat. Discussions are thoughtful and fun. I enjoy it every time!
As always, Leigh’s events do not disappoint! She has a way of raising everybody up and I love attending her discussions.
Engaging conversations. Thought-stimulating questions are posed and diverse perspectives encouraged.

FAQS

When does SheReaders meet?
We typically have our monthly book discussions on the third Thursday of the month at 7pm EST. The discussions last for one hour and end promptly at 8pm. Time and dates for social events will vary based on the host’s availability.
Does it cost money to join?
No. It is free to become a SheReader and participate in events. Periodically throughout the year you will be asked if you want to make a financial contribution to the group but those donations are completely voluntary and up to your discretion. If you would like to contrbute, you can do so here.
Are you always going to meet online?
Yes. In order to include all of our members, in many parts of the world, our book discussions will forever be virtual and hosted on Zoom. Some socials will be in person and members are encouraged to arrange get togethers with other local members if they want to.
Do I need to have read the book to attend a meeting?