Our next book discussion

Honor

by Thrity Umrigar

Live Author Appearance

ON ZOOM

Thursday, June 20th, 2024
7:00 PM to 8:00 PM EST

Indian American journalist Smita has returned to India to cover a story, but reluctantly: long ago she and her family left the country with no intention of ever coming back. As she follows the case of Meena—a Hindu woman attacked by members of her own village and her own family for marrying a Muslim man—Smita comes face to face with a society where tradition carries more weight than one’s own heart, and a story that threatens to unearth the painful secrets of Smita’s own past.

Honor Thrity Umrigar

SheReaders Calendar

2024

Books

Meet Our Authors

Ann Napolitano
Ann Napolitano

Hello Beautiful - 1/25/2024

Ann Napolitano’s latest novel Hello Beautiful is a poignant and emotionally complex family drama that explores…

Sadeqa Johnson
Sadeqa Johnson

Yellow Wife - 2/15/2024

In the tradition of Wench and Twelve Years a Slave, this harrowing story follows an enslaved woman forced…

Christy Lefteri
Christy Lefteri

The Beekeeper of Aleppo - 3/21/2024

Nuri is a beekeeper; his wife, Afra, an artist. They live a simple life, rich in family and friends, in the beautiful Syrian city…

Melissa Fu
Melissa Fu

Peach Blossom Spring - 4/18/2024

It is 1938 in China and, as a young wife, Meilin’s future is bright. But with the Japanese army approaching…

Geraldine Brooks
Geraldine Brooks

Horse - 5/16/2024

A discarded painting in a junk pile, a skeleton in an attic, and the greatest racehorse in American history…

Thrity Umrigar
Thrity Umrigar

Honor - 6/20/2024

Indian American journalist Smita has returned to India to cover a story, but reluctantly…

Lisa See
Lisa See

Lady Tan’s Circle of Women - 7/18/2024

According to Confucius, “an educated woman is a worthless woman,” but Tan Yunxian—born into an elite family…

Lynda Rutledge
Lynda Rutledge

West with Giraffes - 8/15/2024

It’s 1938. The Great Depression lingers. Hitler is threatening Europe, and world-weary Americans long for wonder…

Want to be a featured author?
Dolen Perkins-Valdez
Dolen Perkins-Valdez

Take My Hand - 9/19/2024

Montgomery, Alabama 1973. Fresh out of nursing school, Civil Townsend has big plans to make a difference…

T. Kingfisher
T. Kingfisher

Nettle & Bone - 10/17/2024

After years of seeing her sisters suffer at the hands of an abusive prince, Marra—the shy, convent-raised…

Kathleen Grissom
Kathleen Grissom

Crow Mary - 11/21/2024

In 1872, sixteen-year-old Goes First, a Crow Native woman, marries Abe Farwell, a white fur trader…

Tara M. Stringfellow
Tara M. Stringfellow

Memphis - 12/19/2024

Summer 1995: Ten-year-old Joan, her mother, and her younger sister flee her father’s explosive temper…

Donate to SheReaders

Join our community of SheReaders! Among us you’ll find women from all over the globe who enjoy reading and discussing great books written by women authors. Many of us have been part of the group for years but we are friendly and always open to welcoming new members.

Five Star Rating

Based on over 300 reviews

Welcoming
(25)

Engading
(25)

Safe
(11)

Punctual
(11)

R

As Described
(15)

Inclusive
(17)

An amazing group with a fantastic host who keeps meetings upbeat. Discussions are thoughtful and fun. I enjoy it every time!
As always, Leigh’s events do not disappoint! She has a way of raising everybody up and I love attending her discussions.
Engaging conversations. Thought-stimulating questions are posed and diverse perspectives encouraged.

FAQS

When does SheReaders meet?
We typically have our monthly book discussions on the third Thursday of the month at 7pm EST. The discussions last for one hour and end promptly at 8pm. Time and dates for social events will vary based on the host’s availability.
Does it cost money to join?
No. It is free to become a SheReader and participate in events. Periodically throughout the year you will be asked if you want to make a financial contribution to the group but those donations are completely voluntary and up to your discretion. If you would like to contrbute, you can do so here.
Are you always going to meet online?
Yes. In order to include all of our members, in many parts of the world, our book discussions will forever be virtual and hosted on Zoom. Some socials will be in person and members are encouraged to arrange get togethers with other local members if they want to.
Do I need to have read the book to attend a meeting?